All For Love

Every now and then I will rediscover a song that I had forgotten about. This usually happens when I buy an album based upon one or two popular tracks and don’t really listen to the rest. I am currently listening to Hillsong United’s 2005 album Look To You. I bought it (downloaded it off iTunes actually) back when Salvation Is Here and What The World Will Never Take were getting significant exposure. The truth is that I had heard both of those songs through my friends in The Swift first. Hillsong United’s album was probably two (maybe three) years old by the time I got around to purchasing it. I was living in Mississippi at the time and I was curious to hear what the original versions sounded like. I had this album in my regular rotation for a couple of months and then I forgot about.

This morning I pulled it up because I wanted to hear Salvation Is Here. When All For Love played I just stopped and listened. I really didn’t remember the song but the lyrics really spoke to me. It finished playing and I immediately played it again. I now have the following lyrics etched into my brain:

All for love the Father gave
For only love could make a way
All for love the heavens cried
For love was crucified

Oh how many times have I broken Your heart
But still You forgive
If only I ask
And how many times have You heard me pray
Draw near to me

2004 Hillsong Music Publishing (Admin. by EMI Christian Music Publishing)

This needs to be my prayer on a daily basis. I need to remember what Jesus went through so that I can be forgiven. How many times have I slipped and stumbled back to Him…unworthy…to have Him wrap His arms around me? Too many to even count. Thank You Jesus…for loving me when I didn’t deserve it.

Leave a Reply

