Right Here Waiting

What is it about cheesy ballads that draws me in? I know that I am not alone in this, but I do feel as if some people look at me like I’m a freak for enjoying songs like this. Maybe it’s a guy thing. It seems as if ladies are allowed (even encouraged) to love them. I don’t think it’s fair. Let’s think about it for a minute, most of the good ones are written BY men (with the exception of Diane Warren’s output). Even hard rock bands record them. Now I realize that they do it so they can hopefully get girls to buy the albums and come to the shows.

Like I said…not fair. Why can’t I enjoy the smooth vocal stylings of Peter Cetera or Richard Marx without having some buddy of mine give me a bunch of grief? It’s pop music. It’s not a measuring tool for my masculinity. The truth is that most of the sappy love songs I love have memories attached to them. I don’t just listen to this stuff indiscriminately. There are certain bands I like (Chicago, REO Speedwagon, Styx, Journey, etc…) that have padded their careers with these songs. There are also certain singers (the aforementioned Mr. Marx being one) who I like. I don’t feel like I should have to turn in my Man Card for doing so.

With that being said…I give you one of my absolute favorites. It’s a great song and it just so happens to have sentimental thoughts connected to it because it came out while I was beginning my relationship with Robin. In fact, this is one of our songs. Sit back and enjoy.

I just realized that I posted this a day early. It was supposed to be Sunday’s post. Oh well…today you get two for the price of one.

Leave a Reply

