Top Ten Songs Ever

I shared an old post yesterday in which I listed my ten favorite (at the time) songs. I want to revisit that list briefly today and decide if I want the list to remain the same or if there are some changes I would like to make. Here is the list.

Sweet Is The Night – Electric Light Orchestra
Judas’ Kiss – Petra
Once In A Lifetime – Chicago
Have You Ever Seen The Rain? – Creedence Clearwater Revival
I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry – Hank Williams
I Wanna Be Sedated – The Ramones
Overdose – George Huntley
Reach Out – Stryper
The Trees – Rush
Near The Cross (the hymn)

Without giving it much thought, I already see two that I know I am going to remove. The Chicago and Rush songs are gone. It’s not that I don’t like them. I love them. They are still favorites of mine but I don’t know that I can say they are in my top ten of all time.

I do know that the first two (Sweet Is The Night and Judas’ Kiss) are not going anywhere. The Hank Williams tune is probably going to stay and so will the CCR song. So that’s four of the original ten that survive and two that are gone. That leaves Stryper, The Ramones, George Huntley, and the hymn. I feel compelled to leave Overdose and Near The Cross up there. I also feel like taking the other two off.

So, out of the original ten, four are gone and six stay in place. Now comes the fun part…picking four new songs. I already know that Matt Redman’s 10,000 Reasons is on the list. It’s probably my favorite song in the world right now. One song that got left off the original list (but should have been up there) is Fleetwood Mac’s Never Going Back again. I am correcting that mistake now. That leaves two more songs. I think Wouldn’t It Be Nice by The Beach Boys is going up there. And that means I have one more song to choose.

Oh…the pressure.

When I close my eyes and think of my favorite songs there is one that almost always comes to mind I think it is only fair to put that one up here. The song? Andrew Peterson’s Behold The Lamb Of God. However, Rich Mullins’ If I Stand is another. What do I do? I hate to do this to Hank but I think he’s getting bumped for Rich. Man…that hurts. Oh well, before I overthink it…here’s the new list.

Sweet Is The Night – Electric Light Orchestra
Judas’ Kiss – Petra
Behold The Lamb Of God – Andrew Peterson
If I Stand – Rich Mullins
10,000 Reasons – Matt Redman
Never Going Back Again – Fleetwood Mac
Overdose – George Huntley
Wouldn’t It Be Nice – The Beach Boys
Have You Ever Seen The Rain? – Creedence Clearwater Revival
Near The Cross – Fanny Crosby

Leave a Reply

