In The Blink Of An Eye

It is hard to believe that my baby turns ten years old today. It was strange when both of the boys hit thirteen (and passed it). It was really weird when Geo graduated from high school, then got married, and is now about to become a father himself. Considering all of that, you would think that Jamie turning ten would not be that big of a deal, but it is.

She’s the baby. She’s the last one who still looks like a child, although that is changing with every day. And, at the risk of sounding sexist, she’s Daddy’s little girl. She isn’t supposed to grow up so darn fast. I have a lot of friends who are much younger than I am. That’s one of the advantages/disadvantages of going back to college when you are thirty-five. Many of my former classmates have gotten married and started families in the last five years or so. I see them (mostly on Facebook) sharing photos of their babies and documenting every new experience and I think, “Man, I remember that.”

I have told many of them that they should cherish these moments while they are happening. Time is a funny thing. That little baby soon learns to walk. Once that happens, well, the years will start to vanish quicker than they can imagine. Trust me, I have seen it with my own eyes. As I look at Jamie sleeping this morning, it really is hard to believe that the little lady in front of me (and that’s exactly what she is) is the same little fuzzy haired baby I used to throw up on my shoulder.

Don’t get me wrong, I am thrilled to be able to watch all three of my children grow up. I have friends (several of them actually) who lost children and will never get to see them go through these different phases. My heart breaks for them because now matter how sad I get when I realize my babies are no longer babies, I still have them with me. I do my best to not take that for granted.

So, even though there is a slight sense of sadness this morning, I am thrilled to watch my little girl grow up. Ten is just the beginning. Lord willing, there are many more things that she is going to experience in her life. I know that I will feel a little sad when they come, but I thank God every day that He put Jamie Lee in my life and let me be her Dad.

100_1574

Leave a Reply

