Today In History: 7.15.15

One of the things that I enjoy is reading about history. I have been a voracious reader for much of my life and history is one of my favorite subjects. I especially enjoy looking at the various historical events that took place on any given day. I have several of those “this day in history” type of books. I keep one, Today In History, in my office. It was produced in conjunction with The History Channel’s This Week In History program from 2003. For today’s post I thought I would share a few of the memorable events that occurred on this date.

1205 – Pope Innocent III declares that Jew are liable to perpetual servitude and subjugation for crucifying Jesus.

1815 – Napoleon Bonaparte is rowed out to the HMS Bellerophon, where he surrenders to Captain Frederick Maitland. He is then exiled to St. Helena.

1922 – The duck-billed platypus is first exhibited in the United States at the Bronx Zoo in New York City.

1954 – The first Boeing 707 takes off from Seattle, Washington. This coincides with the anniversary of the company being founded in 1916 by William Boeing. It’s original name was Pacific Aero Products.

1965 – Congress passes a law requiring a warning on all packs of cigarettes sold in the United States.

1997 – Gianni Versace is murdered on the steps of his Miami home by Andrew Cunanan. Cunanan had already murdered two others earlier in the year.

Today is also Linda Rondstadt’s 69th birthday.

Leave a Reply

