Camp Thoughts #1

For the next several  posts I want to reflect upon my experience being dean of Junior Week at Sylvan Hills Christian Camp last week. Although I have been volunteering at Christian camps for the better part of twenty years, this is the first time I have been the dean. I have assisted deans and I even stepped in and served as dean for a three day camp that was already planned, this is the first time that I have been in charge of planning things. Fortunately, I had a lot of help from my co-dean, Karen Crane, and my wife. Without them, I could not have done it. I think that we had a great week and I don’t deserve all the credit. We had an amazing facility, an unbelievable volunteer staff, and the best campers a dean could want. Chris and Amy Miller deserve a huge round of applause for helping foster such a wonderful atmosphere.

I have had four days to think about all of the things that I learned during this experience. There are some areas in which I think we excelled. I believe our lessons were relevant and were well organized. I think our worship times were awesome. Missions and Vespers were great, thanks to Rebecca Spencer and Don Crane. Rec time was fun and I think our volunteer staff went the extra mile in all areas. That doesn’t mean I think we did everything right. We were short staffed because I did not have experience putting together volunteers. It didn’t help that I am new to the area and just don’t know a lot of people. I have made some connections through this and should be better prepared if asked to do it again. I also learned how to better schedule things. I think the week went well but I saw how it could have been better.

I am so excited that I was given this opportunity and I am thankful for all those who helped out. I really do hope that I get asked to do it again next year. I am already thinking about how we can make it even better.

Leave a Reply

