The Voice You Hear Will Determine The Future You Experience: A Review Of Crash The Chatterbox By Steven Furtick

I want to begin by saying that I am a reviewing a copy that was provided by the publisher free of charge for the purpose of review. I received it through the Blogging For Books website. You can purchase the book. HERE. There is a website for the book HERE.

Steve Furtick is the pastor of Elevation Church in Charlotte, NC. He has also written two other books (Greater and Sun Stand Still) which are bestsellers. Crash The Chatterbox contains discussion questions at the ends and, like Furtick’s other books, also has an accompanying small group DVD study that is sold separately. There are also sermon aids and graphics that go along with the book at Elevation Church’s website.

I wasn’t familiar with Furtick before reading this book. I was aware of who he is and I had heard some of the Elevation Church praise band’s CDs. I have pastor friends who really like Furtick and I have some who do not like him at all. I love free books and I was curious to know more about him so I snatched this one up.

The premise is simple: we all have things that distract us and keep us from hearing God when He speaks. Furtick refers to these voices collectively as the Chatterbox. I do believe he is correct and I have no objections to his suggestion that there are four basic things we can remind ourselves when the Chatterbox has us distracted. Furtick says that we can overpower insecurity by telling ourselves that we are loved. He goes on to say that we can defeat fear by telling ourselves that God will protect us. Thirdly, we can reject condemnation by again telling ourselves that we are loved and that Jesus died for us. Lastly, we can overcome discouragement by telling ourselves that we can do all things through the power of Christ.

The book is written simply and contains an abundance of applicable illustrations from both real life and Scripture. I appreciate the discussion guide and think that it is well done. No one particular denominational bias colors the conversation and I believe that Christians of all different stripes can get something out of the book. Furtick often tries to be too cute for my taste but doesn’t come across as pretentious or irreverent. This book was a good introduction to the type of teacher Furtick is and actually makes me want to explore his other books.

Leave a Reply

