Footloose Friday

I took the title from a friend’s comment on Facebook. I think it fits because I really don’t have an organized post today. I usually spend the first hour or so on Friday playing with Lucas. His grandmother cleans the fellowship hall so he and I do all sorts of things so that she can get it done. Sometimes we have Lego Wars, sometimes we play with cars, sometimes we play with army men, and sometimes we do all of that at the same time. Today was one of those days. Lucas is a cool little kid. I try to make sure I am here before they get here because I enjoy hearing him run up to my office and then yelling back to his grandmother, “He’s here!” Every Friday he climbs up into my lap before he leaves and tells me that he loves me. If I didn’t get anything else from being the minister here, that one thing would be worth it.

Today we had an old episode of Superbook playing in the little TV/VCR combo (remember those?) in the pre-school room. We usually have something playing while we have our adventures. Usually it’s Veggietales but today Lucas picked this one. The episode on today talked about Jesus’ miracles. It showed the time where Jesus walked out on the water and met the disciples in the boat. I was telling Lucas that the disciples were Jesus’ friends and that he was going out to help them. Lucas reached over and hugged me and told me that I was his friend forever. He asked if we would be friends in heaven and I told him absolutely. Folks…it doesn’t get any better than that. I enjoy my Friday mornings with Lucas. They are one of the highlights of my week.

I’m in the office working on various things. I’m redesigning our bulletins so that they’ll have a visitor tear-off section on the bottom. I’ll work on my sermon a bit before I leave. I usually stay at the office a little later on Friday because I don’t get started right at 9:00. Bob (one of the elders) and I had a couple of things to take care of this morning and then I had Lucas here so I didn’t really get into the office until 11:00. It’s all good though. I don’t keep long office hours in the first place so it’s not like I’m slaving away in here by myself. Honestly, the alone time is good for me. I’m an introvert so I need that to recharge and get ready for the other things I have to deal with. It’s not a bad thing and I don’t want anyone to think that I’m complaining. I am thankful that I do have a place to come and work where it’s quiet. I can work at home but it’s not always quiet. It’s not bad…it’s just not quiet.

I still have more to say about the while Restoration Movement thing but I haven’t taken the time this week to sit down and organize my thoughts. I want to discuss the Lord’s Supper for a bit and I want to go back and try to better explain why I don’t claim to be part of the RM. I think some people may be misunderstanding what I’m trying to say. I’m not so sure I’ve done a very good job explaining it in the first place. So, that’s what you can expect over the next several days. It may be Monday before I jump back into that discussion, but I promise that I will get back to it.

Grace and peace.

IMG_2905

Leave a Reply

