Mi Dios Puede Salvar

I don’t know why, but I love listening to praise and worship music in Spanish. I don’t speak the language and it has been nearly thirty years since I took the two years of high school Spanish that I do have under my belt. I still remember a handful of phrases but not nearly enough to break them out in conversation. I really don’t know why I enjoy listening to songs in a language that I don’t understand. I have a couple of the Hillsong United albums in Spanish and I like to pull them out every now and then.

In Revelation we see glimpses of heaven where people from every language, nation, and tribe are worshiping together. Maybe that has something to do with it. One of the things I enjoyed when I went to Ghana was when they sang songs in Twi. Many of them do speak English and they mostly sang in English but I loved the two or three songs that weren’t. I didn’t know the songs and I couldn’t make out what they were trying to say but I still felt like I was worshiping by just being there. I feel the same way when I listen to the Spanish Hillsong stuff.

I do have the Bible in Spanish (audio and print) and I will occasionally listen to it while trying to following along in the print copy. I have learned a few words and can recognize them in some of the music that I listen to. I have wanted to learn Spanish for years but have never taken the time to sit down and set my mind to it. Maybe I can use the Bible and these albums to help me along. I know it’s not that important but I think it would be cool to know another language. Unless the Holy Spirit gives me the gift of tongues and I start speaking it fluently, I’m going to have to put forth an effort. At least this way, I’m feeding my soul along with my mind. These two songs are probably my favorites to listen to in Spanish. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

