Hey…It’s Wednesday

I’m sitting here at the desk we have in our living room. I can look out of two different windows while sitting here. There are a few white wispy clouds this afternoon but for the most part, the sky is a beautiful shade of blue. Those of us who are fans of UNC would say that it’s Carolina Blue. I’m sure that others would describe it differently but that is the first thing that comes to my mind. The leaves are already exploding with various colors and should be in full force over the next several days. It’s not hot and it’s not cold. I took Kobi for a walk not long ago and was able to wear jeans and a t-shirt without being uncomfortable. He’s currently curled up on the floor in front of the window and just basking in the sunlight that is streaming in. If there is such a thing a perfect Fall day, this very well may be it.

We didn’t have afternoon Bible study today. Robin is chaperoning a field trip with Jamie’s class and Becca went in this morning to have her tonsils removed. I stayed home and watched Marcus. I can think of much worse ways to spend a morning. Geo and Becca got home just a few minutes ago and are beat. At least she has finally gotten this out of the way. She needed to have it done last year but they had to wait until after Marcus was born. It’s quiet here right now. That’s not typical these days. When Geo moves back to North Carolina I imagine it will be more normal. I guess that’s good and bad. They need to be out on their own and we want them to be, but I am going to miss Marcus terribly. I reckon I will have a reason to go South at least once a year, eh?

I am going with the Boy Scouts to Camp Brule this weekend. They’re having something called Dead Tired Camp on Saturday night and they needed another adult. It’s a zombie themed night that lasts until breakfast on Sunday morning. We’ll leave as soon as we eat and should be at church by the time Sunday School starts. I will definitely need a nap Sunday afternoon, but it should be fun. They have their meetings on Wednesday nights so I can’t be involved. Robin is very involved. In fact, she’s the treasurer for their troop. I try to do what I can and I figured this weekend is something that I can help out with. I haven’t been camping since Geo was in the Cub Scouts back in Sharpsburg. That’s over ten years ago. Anyways, I’m sure I’ll have more to say about that on Monday.

I have been thinking a lot about grace these days. I am constantly reminded that I need it and I have to also remember that I have to give it as well. It is so easy to think the worst of people. It’s not always easy to forgive or give people the benefit of the doubt, especially if we live/think differently than they do. We fall into this whole Us versus Them mindset and I think that only makes things worse. If I really do believe the Bible then I should see the way Jesus interacted with people (especially those who were “dirty”) and that should make me think about the way I interact with others. Do I really show love and grace. How can I honestly expect people to want to hear the good news when all I’m giving is the bad?

It’s something to think about.

Grace and peace

Leave a Reply

