The Colors Cry Out

creation crop

In an earlier post I discussed seasonal affective disorder and how the changing of the seasons can bring about depression. There is a flip side to it that I want to bring up today. Even though the cooler temperatures do tend to make me feel sluggish, the changing of the colors absolutely astounds me. Every year I gaze at the leaves as they go from green to all of these magnificent colors. Being up here in the mountains really brings it out. I walked up Beers Road this afternoon so I could look out over Granville Center and just enjoy the colors. I wish I had a proper camera so I could really capture the beauty but my iPhone will just have to do. I immediately think of Psalm 19:1-6 as I look out and take in the scenery.

The heavens proclaim the glory of God.
    The skies display his craftsmanship.
Day after day they continue to speak;
    night after night they make him known.
They speak without a sound or word;
    their voice is never heard.
Yet their message has gone throughout the earth,
    and their words to all the world.

God has made a home in the heavens for the sun.
It bursts forth like a radiant bridegroom after his wedding.
    It rejoices like a great athlete eager to run the race.
The sun rises at one end of the heavens
    and follows its course to the other end.
    Nothing can hide from its heat.

I feel the same way about the ocean and I look forward to walking barefoot in the sand again, but the mountains are enough to remind me. I think Creation is the biggest reason why I believe in God. When I look out (whether it’s the mountains or the ocean) I can sense His presence. It’s almost as if He is nudging me and asking, “Hey Lee, what do you think about that?” I am so thankful for that. Even in my darkest hours I have been able to go outside, take a deep breath, and feel God speaking to me through nature.

Even though the colors will soon fade and the dreariness of winter will set in, I can look out my window today and just soak it all up. I think that’s why I take so many pictures of it. I just can’t get enough.

Grace and peace

Leave a Reply

