Long Day

I apologize for checking in so late. I have had a busy (but great) day. For starters, I wrote a new song this morning.  I have the music drafted and demoed (using my iPhone) and I have a first draft of the lyrics done. Here is what I have at the moment.

Lock up the doors, yeah there’s gonna be a riot

Nowhere to hide, no use in even tryin

The dream is over, no need to deny it

The system has failed and there ain’t nobody buyin

Got a treasure stored away

Moth and rust won’t cause decay

I’ll run my race and claim the prize

I put my hope in something real

A kingdom that no one can steal

I’ll leave this world and all its lies

Fallen kings will watch their castles crumble

The Son of Man has caused the wise to stumble

Lightning crashes, hear the thunder rumble

This whole world is gonna shake and tumble

Got a treasure stored away

Moth and rust won’t cause decay

I’ll run my race and claim the prize

I put my hope in something real

A kingdom that no one can steal

I’ll leave this world and all its lies

The melody line is slightly inspired by Kurt Cobain but the music is pretty much straight-forward rock. I don’t know when/if I will be able to get a proper demo done but I have enough to keep me from forgetting it. I have a couple more ideas I want to get down before I forget them.

I also listened to a Nelson Searcy webinar on Church Systems. It lasted about an hour and a half and had some really good information. It was an introduction to his pastor coaching program (which costs $250 a month) but I knew that going in. I have no intention of doing that (too much money) but the actual webinar had some really good information so it was worth the time.

Robin and I went up to Elmira and had date night. We used the gift card to Texas Roadhouse that we got from the church for Pastor Appreciation Month. Then we went to the mall and hung out. I bought a new capo (I lost mine sometime between Monday night and this morning) and some picks. I also played a Taylor T5 (my current dream guitar) and Robin tried out a couple of piccolos. They had a brand new bass clarinet there but I didn’t play it. It is smaller (and much lighter) than the one I played in high school. It’s cool but I can’t see myself paying $2500 for it.

Well, it’s almost 10:30 and I want to go hang out with my wife.

Grace and peace

Leave a Reply

