Writing Songs

Sometimes I feel totally uninspired and I don’t even want to look at a musical instrument. Part of it comes from the frustration of having to play within my musical limitations. I can play guitar, piano, bass guitar, and even a smidgen of drums. However, I do not excel on any of them. I am competent enough to play in church and various events. I am also competent enough to amuse myself. I have been in several bands (they would be garage bands but none of them actually rehearsed in a garage) since graduating from high school in 1988. A couple of them were decent and actually played shows. I wrote a lot of the songs that two of those bands played. I like some of the stuff I have written but I don’t know that I have ever written a great song. I think I have written a handful of decent songs and if cut myself some slack, I might even say that I have written one or two really good songs.

I moved my guitar amp, electric guitar, and keyboard into the office yesterday. I had several reasons for doing so. First, I spend more time in the office now and I like to have them here if the mood strikes me. Second, the dog wigs out every time I have tried to crank up the amp at home. Third (and lastly), I have felt compelled to actively write songs lately. I don’t know why, but I have. For some reason, I feel like writing stuff that would have fit the band I had with my buddy Phil. We were called Oldmangrady and we started playing together back in the late Nineties. I was the primary guitar player so the stuff was very simple. I am slightly better today but I’m still no Eddie Van Halen.

Most of the songs are blatantly Christian but I do occasionally like to write about every day life. I have penned a couple of love songs over the years. In fact, one of the new songs I wrote today is a straight forward love song. It’s pretty simple but I like it. I like the majority of the songs I have written in my life. There are some lyrics that still make me cringe and I sometimes try to fix them. I am not always successful but it does give me something to shoot for.

The stuff I recorded today it the very definition of low-fi. I sat my iPhone on top of the Casio keyboard that I’m using for drum beats and pressed record. I have the amp under the keyboard so the mic will pick up the guitar and I just sing. I have to do each one a few times so I can adjust the volumes on the amp and/or keyboard. It’s not like I’m trying to put out a marketable product right now. I just want to get the songs down so I don’t forget them. I also like to share them with folks who are interested.

That being said, I’m going to post the link to my SoundClick page. There are a few songs up there under the name Oldmangrady. That’s me. If you don’t like loud guitars, well, you probably won’t like them. That’s okay though, I know we all have different tastes. It’s all good. If you do like that late Eighties, early Nineties alternative rock, then you might want to check them out. They are ROUGH demos, I can’t stress that enough. They are good enough that I am not embarrassed to share them but I don’t want anyone thinking that you’re going to hear radio quality stuff. Hey, if you do listen to them, let me know what you think. I don’t mind constructive criticism.

Oldmangrady

Grace and peace

Leave a Reply

