He Wants Me

One of the most humbling things I have ever realized is that in spite of all the things I have done to offend Him, God still wants me. Romans 5:6-11 (ESV) says this:

For while we were still weak, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly.For one will scarcely die for a righteous person—though perhaps for a good person one would dare even to die— but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Since, therefore, we have now been justified by his blood, much more shall we be saved by him from the wrath of God. 10 For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. 11 More than that, we also rejoice in God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have now received reconciliation.

Even when I didn’t care one way or the other, He loved me. Even after I came to faith and deliberately turned my back on Him, He loved me. That absolutely blows my mind. I understand it somewhat because I have a similar love for my children. I love them even when they blatantly disregard me. I love them even when they say they don’t love me. My love for them is unconditional. There is nothing that they can do that will make me stop loving them. If I (a messed up human father) can love like that, just imagine how much our perfect heavenly Father loves us.

No matter what I do, He loves me. That doesn’t mean that I don’t make Him sad (or even angry) when I disobey. That doesn’t mean He smiles and shakes His head every time I do something that offends Him. He is still Almighty God and He still has standards that He expects me to strive for. However, His grace and mercy are so great that He continues to love me in spite of who I am.

I am so thankful that He loved me even when I was a sinner.

Grace and peace

Leave a Reply

