Monday Night Meditation

I have had a lot on my mind today. A friend from North Carolina lost her 42 year old son today to a heart attack. She has just posted a sweet birthday message to him on Saturday. Today is her birthday. My heart aches for her and her family. I pray that God will shower them in His mercy and comfort. I also found out one of my preacher buddies had a heart attack last night. He seems to be doing well tonight but has a cath scheduled tomorrow. I pray that God will touch him and strengthen his heart.

Today is the second day of the Advent season and I can really understand why Jesus had to come to this world. There is pain and death here and the only way those things can die is for Him to kill them once and for all. Part of the plan to do that required Him to take on flesh and walk among us for a while. We often focus on the little baby Jesus in the manger with cute little sheep and cows milling about. We forget that the little baby had to grow up and walk up Calvary’s hill.

I started listening to Christmas music today. I think that Christmas carols may be my favorite form of sacred music. I’m not too big on secular Christmas tune. I’m not much for Jingle Bells or Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire. I think my absolute favorite Christmas song is Angels We Have Heard On High. I have probably twenty different versions of it. I think Sixpence None The Richer’s version is my favorite. I’ll close this short post with it.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

