Making A Murderer

Truthfully, I am not currently watching this. It is a Netflix original documentary that premiered back in December. It came to my attention over the weekend and I watched the entire first season (ten episodes) in two days. The show tells the story of Steven Avery, a man who served eighteen years in prison for a sexual assault he did not commit. The show chronicles that case and how he was able to obtain his freedom only to be accused of murder four years later. I don’t want to comment much more than that because there are twists and turns that I do not want to give away.

After watching it I came to the conclusion that the police department involved in his case is corrupt. I also came to the conclusion that the state of Wisconsin will never fess up to the problems and mistakes that seem so glaring. I will admit that the show’s focus is to point out these problems and mistakes so it is biased. I don’t believe it is unfair in its portrayal but it does highlight the information that supports Avery’s claims.

It is shows (and the cases they highlight) like this that make it difficult for me to support the death penalty. It’s not that I am morally opposed to capital punishment. My problem is with the system. We have seen too many cases where innocent people have been convicted, imprisoned, and in some cases, executed, only to have the state come out later and say, “Ooops.” I believe the system is flawed and I can’t trust it.

One thing that sticks out to me after watching Making A Murderer is the lie that we’re innocent until proven guilty. That is supposed to be one of the guarantees we have but time and time again we have seen people tried and found guilty in the media before they ever set foot in a courtroom. It’s troubling. Truthfully, I don’t know if Steven Avery is guilty of the murder he has been accused of. What I do know is that he never had the chance for a fair trial. If you like true crime shows, I recommend it. I warn you, there is a lot of disturbing stuff. That is to be expected given the subject.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

