Flashback Friday On Hold

It is Friday night and I have spent most of the day dozing. I have been fighting a really bad head cold for the last two days and I decided to take some of the strong stuff today. That pretty much left me groggy and curled up on the sofa for the past twelve hours. I do feel a little better now but I still have a lot of pressure in my sinuses. When Robin and Chris get home from State College I plan to take another dose and go to bed.

Since I have been out of  it for most of the day I really don’t have anything to post. I tried to watch some television when I woke up but I ended up falling right back to sleep. I honestly don’t have much on my mind other than wanting my wife and son to hurry up and get home.

Ten years ago I had just finished my first semester after returning. I had a 4.0 and made the Dean’s List. I can remember having all sorts of plans for the future. I was working as the weekend youth minister at Smithfield Christian Church in Smithfield, Virginia. Jamie had just experienced her first Christmas. Chris had just turned five and Geo was ten.

Twenty years ago I had just dropped out of Bible college and moved back to Rocky Mount. I was working at Pizza Inn and Robin was pregnant with Geo. I had absolutely no idea where my life was headed. I was disillusioned. I was bitter. I was through with church. I had started drinking again. If you could have told me then that wind up in Pennsylvania serving as the pastor for a small country church, I would have laughed.

I try not to get bogged down in the past. I think it is important to look back and see where I’ve come from but I am trying to keep my eyes on the future. When I think about how far I’ve come over the last twenty years, I can only thank God for staying right there with me. No matter how hard I tried to run away, He stuck with me.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

