Week In Review: 1/3 to 1/9

I will be honest, I really can’t look back on the past week and comment about news items. I don’t watch the news very often and only get highlights in e-mails and Facebook updates. There is a lot of stuff out there concerning the upcoming Presidential election and I will confess, I am about as disinterested in it as I can be. It seems like Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton are the front runners and I just can’t see myself voting for either one. I don’t believe either one of them would be a good President.

If you are a sports fan there has been a lot in the news. The NFL season is coming to a close and the NCAA basketball season is just getting started. As a Dallas Cowboys fan, the football season can’t end soon enough. As a UNC Tar Heels fan, I am excited about the good start. A lot of college and pro football teams are going through coaching changes so that always provides some entertainment if you are into that sort of thing.

There is a small group of armed protesters out in Oregon who have taken over a federal wildlife refuge. I haven’t read much about the situation. I have seen people sharing opinions on Facebook but I take those with a grain of salt. All I do know is that the situation is supposedly over federal government control of grazing lands. Even if the protesters are right in their concerns, I can’t condone armed action against the government in this particular situation.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens fell to #2 at the box office yesterday. The Revenant (which stars Leonardo DiCaprio) was #1. Star Wars is predicted to make over $800 million by the close of this week. That blows my mind. Before it is all said and done, it may make $1 billion worldwide. That’s before it does to video. Insane.

On a personal level, this week has been relatively uneventful. Robin has had a couple of new job possibilities. One is with a local bank and one is with the county. She has already interviewed with the county.

The siding project at the church is really coming along. It looks like he is close to being done. He hasn’t had to deal with inclement weather so that has helped his progress. This winter has been very mild so far, especially when you compare it to our first two up here. I’m not complaining though. I like the snow and I enjoy it when we get it, but I can do without those sub-zero temperatures.

In state news, we STILL do not have a budget for 2015-2016. Yes, you read that correctly. The budget was due back in July and the powers that be are still pouting and pointing the finger at one another. I’m eager to see if they pass last year’s budget before it’s time to pass this year’s. Some (if not all) of these clowns need to get voted out of office come November.

And that’s about it.  I start a new sermon series on prayer tomorrow. We’ll see you then.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

