Not Really The Week In Review

There have been several celebrity deaths over the last week. Iconic musician David Bowie died on Sunday after an 18 month battle with cancer. On Thursday, Alan Rickman passed away after battling cancer. Some of his notable roles include Severus Snape in the Harry Potter films and Hans Gruber in Die Hard. My favorite role of his was Alexander Lane/Dr. Lazarus in the underrated Galaxy Quest. Dan Haggerty died yesterday. I know him as Grizzly Adams from the television show that was on when I was a kid.

On a less morbid note, I have a really good weekend so far. Robin and I attended an area wide supper for ministers and their wives last night. It was down near Lock Haven at a cool little place called Restless Oaks. There was a really good turnout and the food was good. We got home around 10:00 or so. This morning I attended a men’s prayer breakfast at the Windfall United Methodist Church. I gave my testimony and dis a short devotion. It was a great time of fellowship and I was able to meet some really nice guys.

We (the family) went up to Waverly/Athens/Sayre for lunch and to hit up some thrift stores. We also went to the Susquehanna River Archaeological Center and checked out a bunch of fossils and Native American artifacts. Jamie wasn’t impressed but Chris and I had a great time and plan on going back when we have more time.

We got home and I watched the UNC basketball game that I recorded while we were out. They played NC State and it was an ugly game. They did hang in there and pull out a twelve point win so that was good. I finished watching it just in time to see Notre Dame beat Duke at Duke. Whenever UNC wins and Duke loses in the same day is a good sports day. I’ve got the Kansas City/New England game on now and have some pork sirloins in the oven. That’s going to do it for this day.

We’ve got a fellowship lunch following the morning service tomorrow and I’m looking forward to another good time. It will be a great start to the new week.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

