I’m Just Passing Through

I’m not really sure where I got my love of old country music from. I think my grandfather liked it so he may be the culprit. For most of my life I have been a rock and roll kind of guy. Most of the stuff I listen to would probably fall into the hard rock category. However, there is something about country music (the stuff written before I was born) that really speaks to me. Hank Williams is probably one of my favorite singers of all time. There is just something about the tone in his voice that makes me believe every single word he sings. Another guy that I have really come to appreciate is Jim Reeves. I really don’t know anything about him other than the songs he sang. The one I shared here is probably one of my favorite songs. I don’t know when I first heard it but I was a little kid at the time. I sort of forgot about this music when I hit my teen years. Perhaps it has come back to me now because I’m a middle-aged grandfather myself. Maybe it’s because some of these songs speak timeless truth. The closer I get to taking my last breath, the more real they become.

This world is not my home
I’m just a-passing through
My treasures are laid up
Somewhere beyond the blue.
The angels beckon me
From heaven’s open door
And I can’t feel at home
In this world anymore.

When I hear that it reminds me that Jesus promised that there is something waiting for us when leave here. I’ve been preaching through the Lord’s Prayer and one of the things I’ve stressed is that the kingdom of God is right here and right now. We’re supposed to be living for it every day and doing everything that we can to spread it. However, Scripture also teaches that it will only be completely fulfilled when this world passes away.

 

11 Beloved, I urge you as aliens and strangers to abstain from fleshly lusts which wage war against the soul. 12 Keep your behavior excellent among the Gentiles, so that in the thing in which they slander you as evildoers, they may because of your good deeds, as they observe them, glorify God in the day of visitation.

1 Peter 2:11-12 (NASB)

 

We are supposed to live life abundantly while we are here but we should never forget that this is temporary. We don’t need to put our roots too deep in this land.

Grace and peace.

 

Leave a Reply

