Tonight’s Planned Post Has Been Preempted

I had something else in mind tonight but after seeing the news that Dave Mirra was found dead in Greenville, North Carolina from an apparent suicide, my thoughts went elsewhere. For those who are unfamiliar with Mirra, he was one of the premiere stars of BMX (sport biking) and was one of the reasons Greenville is known as Protown. Let me just say, I didn’t know Mirra personally. I did meet him once years ago and he was nice then. I’m not even a huge fan of BMX but I did enjoy watching it, especially when Mirra was riding. It was kind of cool seeing a guy that called North Carolina home excelling at such an intense sport. Details are still coming out but Mirra was found sitting in his truck, dead from what is being described as a self-inflicted gunshot wound. He leaves behind a wife and two kids.

I don’t know what drove him to take his own life. I know too many families who have been touched by suicide. It breaks my heart every time I hear of another one. I have been depressed before but I can honestly say that I have never been so enveloped by the darkness that I seriously considered ending my life. For that, I am thankful.

1 I waited patiently for the Lord;
And He inclined to me and heard my cry.
He brought me up out of the pit of destruction, out of the miry clay,
And He set my feet upon a rock making my footsteps firm.

Psalm 40:1-2 (NASB)

 

If you are at that place or you know someone who is…please…talk to someone.

Lifeline

1-800-273-TALK (8225)

Grace and peace.

national-suicide-preventional-lifeline

 

Leave a Reply

