Strong Enough

I am a blessed man. I haven’t always felt that way. There have been times in my life (some of them not too terribly long ago) when I honestly wondered why God was allowing me to go through the things I was going through. There have been many nights when I sat up alone telling God that I just could not go one more day. After all of my efforts had failed I realized that there were some things that I could not handle on my own. I let pride and fear rob me of my joy for a long time. I let guilt bury me because I tried to do things on my own and I always seemed to fail. It took a long time for me to be able to sit still and admit that I was not strong enough to fix things. That’s why I like this song so much. It’s a simple song but it helps me remember that I don’t have to fix everything. There are things in this life that are beyond my abilities. The thing I had a hard time understanding was that God sometimes uses those things to bring me closer to Him.

In 2 Corinthians 12 Paul talks about a “thorn in his flesh” and writes these words:

Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:8-10 (ESV)

Paul begged God for relief and God told him, “No.” I believe He has done the same thing in my life. I’ll be honest, I didn’t like it at the time and there were moments when I got made at Him. However, I believe He was saying the same thing to me. Paul also wrote the words that this song is based upon.

10 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. 11 Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance andneed. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Philippians 4:10-13 (ESV)

When I trust God to take me through the hard times, He does it. That’s not easy for me but I understand it better now. Jesus taught that if we truly seek the kingdom of God before all else then God will provide our needs. His Spirit helps us do that. I am so thankful for that because I know I can’t do it on my own. I’m just not strong enough.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

