Live Like We Believe It

I do apologize for my frequent absences. This is not how I wanted this year to go but sometimes things are beyond our control. Between our limited internet access (still none at the house) and my on-going battle with this cold (I’m just about ready to surrender and go to the doctor) I have not been able to post every day. There are days when I’d like to and I just can’t get over here to do it and there are days when I’m just not up to it. Hopefully both of those things will change quickly and I can get back to my daily routine.

I want to share a quote that a buddy of mine shared on Facebook this week. It’s a fairly well known quote and I have seen it many times but for some reason it really hit me this week.

If sinners be damned, at least let them leap to Hell over our dead bodies. And if they perish, let them perish with our arms wrapped about their knees, imploring them to stay. If Hell must be filled, let it be filled in the teeth of our exertions, and let not one go unwarned and unprayed for.

– Charles Spurgeon

 

My buddy (Chris) also posted this.

As Christians, if we don’t share our faith with others, it means one of two things:

1. We don’t believe there is a Hell
2. It doesn’t bother us that people will be going there

 

You know what? He’s absolutely right. I used both of those in my sermon today and followed them with the parables of the lost sheep, the lost coin, and the lost son in Luke 15. I think there are a lot of people sitting in the pews (chairs) who are quite content to sit back and ignore those who are lost. It doesn’t affect them so they just don’t worry about it. There are also those who seem to get some sort of perverse join in the thought of sinners burning in hell. Both of those attitudes are unacceptable.

Jesus said that he came to seek and save the lost. If we are his followers then we should be doing the same thing. Too many of us either ignore those who are wandering around hell bound or we try to give them a shove so that they get there quicker. We should be reaching out to them so that they can truly see the love and grace that is found in Jesus. If we really do believe that there is a hell and we really do believe that Jesus is the only way, then we need to live like it. I know that I need to try harder. What about you?

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

