Search My Heart

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 Point out anything in me that offends you,
    and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

Psalm 139:23-24 (NLT)

Psalm 139 is one of my favorite psalms because it really makes me stop and think. I wrote about the first part of this psalm not long ago and focused on the part about God knowing me. We talked about that today over at New Beginnings during our chapel time. We also looked at the passage from Luke 7 where Mary washes, kisses, and anoints Jesus’ feet. Simon, the host of the party, thinks to himself, “If Jesus knew who this woman is, he wouldn’t have anything to do with her.” The great thing is that Jesus DID know her. He even know Simon and the thoughts he was entertaining.

God knows every little thing about us. Here at the end of Psalm 139 David is asking God to share that intimate knowledge with him. Are we brave enough to pray the same thing? Am I honest enough to say, “Hey God, show me all those things in my life that need cleaning up.” Am I willing to let the Spirit clean house when He does? We don’t have to ask God to search our hearts, He already knows what’s there. What we need to ask is for God to reveal those things that we’re clinging to or worrying over. We are keenly aware of most of them but there may be things that hinder us that we aren’t even aware of. We have to ask God to help us deal with both.

I can really feel God doing this in my life right now. I hope you do to. It’s part of the process we call sanctification. The closer we get to God, the more like Him we should be. I pray that I am willing. I pray that I am honest enough to ask God. I pray that He gives me the strength to respond. I pray that you do the same.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

