Lord, You Took The Shadows

Over the past two years my heart has really been burdened for those who suffer from depression and anxiety. I have seen at least two families up here lose loved ones to suicide and it seems like more and more stories pop up every day. I deal with mild anxiety issues from time to time but nothing that makes me feel like the only answer is to end my life. However, those people are out there and they are suffering. I don’t know what the answer is because every situation is different. People hurt for various reasons and there isn’t one cure all that can help each and every one of them.

I am still trying to figure out how to make this part of my personal mission. I have gotten involved with a ministry that reaches out to those struggling with addictions. Many addicts deal with the same sort of issues that are connected with severe depression and suicide. Some of them eventually kill themselves as well. If I can just share hope with one person then I feel like I am moving in the right direction.

Other than that, I don’t know what to do outside of raising awareness. We can’t always look at someone and tell if he/she is struggling with suicidal thoughts. Many people are able to put on a happy face and there is no indication that something is wrong until it is too late. We need to pray for those who are hurting and we need to pray that we can be a ray of hope to them.

I’ll close with a snippet from a song by Rez Band.

God, are You there, can You hear me now?
Show me how to hope
Lost in the dark on a dead end road, please save me from myself

Lord, You, You took the shadows
– all my fears and doubt and brought me out of the night
Lord, You , You take the shadows
– give me hope and love and turn my darkness to light

 

I lift up every single soul out there who is hurting right now. I pray that grace and peace of Jesus overwhelms you. I pray that you reach out for help. I pray that someone is there for you.

Grace and peace.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

1-800-273-TALK (8255)

Leave a Reply

