I Was Just Getting Started

Yesterday was the 28th anniversary of the day I graduated from high school. I’m sitting here trying to recall that day but there really isn’t much coming to mind. I do have a few memories of the practice we had that day (or was it the day before) where they let people get up and talk. The only one that is vivid is when Kelly (George) Winstead got up and sang some  George Jones and Whitesnake. I know others got up and did similar things but that one really sticks out. I don’t remember much about the actual graduation. I have a VHS tape packed away somewhere but I haven’t watched it in ages.

I really don’t have much in common with that kid. Genetically I’m the same but that’s about it. I do still write songs and stories but hopefully I’m better at it now than I was then. I still keep in touch with some of my friends from high school but it’s through Facebook. I guess that’s one good thing about social media. If it wasn’t for Facebook I probably wouldn’t stay in touch with any of them. That’s especially true now that I live up here.

We’ve had three class reunions so far but I’m having trouble remembering. I know we did a 10, 20, and 25 year reunion but I can’t remember if there was a 15 year or not. I really do think there was. I remember the first one was at the convention center in Rocky Mount. There was one at the hotel across from Nash General Hospital. There was one at the country club in Nashville and there was the last one. That is four. I assume we will have one in two years to mark 30 years. If we do then I will do my best to make it. That will also be the 10 year mark for me graduating from college. I guess I may try to make the Gospel Rally that year. I’ve got two years to plan for it.

As I sit here and examine my life I have come to the conclusion that there is no way I could have dreamed this up back in 1988. I would have had trouble imaging this even ten years ago when I was graduating from Bible college. God really has lead me on an interesting journey. To steal from The Beatles, it’s been a long and winding road. I really don’t have any complaints. God has been good to me even when I wasn’t particularly concerned about where He was leading me. He let me go off in all different directions and still managed to bring me right here when I believe He wants me. For that, I am grateful.

I didn’t realize it at the time (who really does?) but walking across that stage was just the beginning. I had no clue what was waiting ahead. You know what? I still don’t. What I do know is that God will be right here with me just like He has been for the last 28 years.

Grace and peace

 

Lee 1988

Leave a Reply

