The Summer Of Reading

I did have a post for yesterday. I wrote it at home and somehow it vanished as I was trying to save it to a USB stick. Oh well. I will share what I wrote.

Chris and I went to the library out on US 6. The branch in Troy was closed but it worked out fine. I checked out Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee and Out Of The Silent Planet. I also checked out the first season of Heroes on DVD. I have been wanting to read BMHAWK for years so I started with it. I’m about halfway through it right now. I read OOTSP years ago (and one of its sequels) but I want to read the entire trilogy from the beginning.

I have set a goal for this summer. I want to read at least 50 books. I would like to read 100 but I wanted to set a reasonable goal to begin with. We don’t have internet or cable TV at the house so I have the time to devote to reading. I’m trying to really mix up the types of books I’m reading as well. One of my choices is The Lord Of The Rings. I have never sat down and read the entire thing from start to finish. I confess, I struggle trying to read Tolkien. I have The Hobbit at home so I’m going to read it first. Then I’ll tackle the big one.

Summer technically starts next week on June 20th and ends on September 22nd. That gives me approximately 93 days to read. To hit 100 books I would have to read at least one a day and I realize that’s nearly impossible even though I have read shorter novels in less than 24 hours. I think 50 books is much more realistic especially when you consider that I usually read two to three books at the same time. Yes, I really do that. I typically read a novel, a non-fiction book, and something theological simultaneously. Robin says that she doesn’t know how I read so many books. I just like to read. That’s all.

What books are you reading or do you plan to read this summer? Let me know what your suggestions are.

Grace and peaceReading Choices 6.14

 

3 thoughts on “The Summer Of Reading

  1. Challenge accepted! I recently read the sequel to the shinning, it’s called dr. Sleep. It was ok. So, Ill start with a book from 1985, “foods that make you lose weight”, “The Facade” by Michael Heiser, and I plan to get a new one Thursday from B&N. Plus I read about 7 different comic books a couple times a week (son and both)!

  2. I haven’t read “Doctor Sleep” yet. I still have “Mr. Mercedes” and “Finders Keepers” (both newer King novels) first.

  3. I track everything on Goodreads and about 2-3 years ago I did pretty good at reading books, but nowhere NEAR 50 books in a season. 30 a year is really good for me. But my reading has taken a SHARP nosedive. I just can’t get myself to do it anymore. I enjoy it, but other things have taken over. It makes me sad, actually.

Leave a Reply

