Your Cheatin’ Heart

I watched I Saw The Light this morning. I am a huge fan of Hank Williams’ music so this one has been on my list ever since I heard about it. I only knew Tom Hiddleston from his role as Loki so I was genuinely impressed by his performance. Much like Gary Busey as Buddy Holly and Joaquin Phoenix as Johnny Cash, he BECAME Hank Williams. He did all of the singing as well and proved to be a capable vocalist. His voice may actually be a little more refined than Hank’s but he pulled it off. There was some language and one brief scene with nudity (which really was unnecessary) so it’s not for everyone. I do believe the movie managed to give a very sympathetic (but honest) look at a truly gifted but flawed individual. Even though I knew the outcome, I was in tears at the end.

I have always been fascinated by Hank’s ability to write songs about sinfulness and then turn around and offer genuine worship songs. Perhaps it is because I have seen both of those things in my own life and I can truly relate. As I was listening to the simple acoustic version of Your Cheatin’ Heart that Hiddleston performs near the end, I realized that it unintentionally makes the most theological statement Williams ever sang.

Your cheatin’ heart
Will make you weep
You’ll cry and cry
And try to sleep
But sleep won’t come
The whole night through
Your cheatin’ heart will tell on you…

When tears come down
Like falling rain
You’ll toss around
And call my name
You’ll walk the floor
The way I do
Your cheatin’ heart will tell on you…

Your cheatin’ heart
Will pine some day
And crave the love
You threw away
The time will come
When you’ll be blue
Your cheatin’ heart will tell on you…

When tears come down
Like falling rain
You’ll toss around
And call my name
You’ll walk the floor
The way I do
Your cheatin’ heart will tell on you…

I realize he was writing this from the viewpoint of someone who has been dealing with an unfaithful partner. However, go back and read those lyrics from God’s viewpoint. One of the things that has pained God throughout history is the fact that His people too often have divided loyalties. They aren’t faithful. The Bible uses that same imagery to describe people who won’t commit to following God. They are enticed by the things of this world and continue to “cheat” when God is the only one who can truly love us. I don’t think I will ever be able to hear that song the same way again.

Grace and peace

 

Leave a Reply

