At A Loss For Words

I don’t know what to say. That’s rare for me. However, as I sit here in my office and read the news stories and responses that are trending today I just don’t know how to respond. It seems like there is a new shooting and a new protest every day. It is 2016 and the racial tension in our nation is just as strong today as it has been since the day I was born. As a white man who also happens to be a Christian minister I honestly do not know how to respond. I am still processing things and I have asked some of my African-American friends how they feel so that I have a better understanding of the situation. The truth is that I really cannot know what they are experiencing. I confess that I do not know what to say or do. I do want to share the thing that is on my mind at this very moment.

I don’t get afraid if I see a police car pull up behind me, even if the lights are flashing. I might get upset with myself for doing something to get pulled but I don’t question the officer’s motivation. I was actually stopped once because my car matched the description of a vehicle that the police were looking for. I wasn’t scared when I was stopped. I was confused and a little irritated but I didn’t worry. Not once did I think I was in danger. Even when I have had interactions with officers who weren’t very pleasant I never feared for my life.

Let me tell you who I do worry about. My brother-in-law is from Ghana. When he speaks it is obvious that he isn’t from this country. His skin is much darker than mine. He is a fine Christian man and I am honored to call him my brother. He loves my sister and my two nieces and works hard to take care of them. I worry that something could happen to him. I promise you that racism is alive and well in eastern North Carolina.

I worry about many of my African-American friends. I don’t know what it feels like to be automatically labeled a “thug” because my skin is dark or I have dreads or I’m listening to hip-hop in my car. I have seen young black men accosted at a mall when they were doing nothing but standing around and talking. I don’t believe that most white people (or police officers) are racist but we cannot sit here and say that it doesn’t happen.

I don’t have the answer. I don’t have the solution. What I do believe is that we need to stand up and acknowledge that there is a problem. Unless we are willing to be honest and really hear those who are scared and are angry we will never move forward. We will never see unity.

Grace and peace

One thought on “At A Loss For Words

Leave a Reply

