Proverbs 1:10-19

10 My child, if sinners entice you,
    turn your back on them!
11 They may say, “Come and join us.
    Let’s hide and kill someone!
    Just for fun, let’s ambush the innocent!
12 Let’s swallow them alive, like the grave;
    let’s swallow them whole, like those who go down to the pit of death.
13 Think of the great things we’ll get!
    We’ll fill our houses with all the stuff we take.
14 Come, throw in your lot with us;
    we’ll all share the loot.”

15 My child, don’t go along with them!
    Stay far away from their paths.
16 They rush to commit evil deeds.
    They hurry to commit murder.
17 If a bird sees a trap being set,
    it knows to stay away.
18 But these people set an ambush for themselves;
    they are trying to get themselves killed.
19 Such is the fate of all who are greedy for money;
    it robs them of life.

Proverbs 1:10-19 (NLT)

Yesterday I shared verses eight and nine which addressed parental wisdom. Today’s selection sounds exactly like something a Mom or Dad would say. How many of us tried to convince our parents to let us do something our friends were doing and got this response (or something similar)?

If they jump off a cliff are you going to jump off too?

I have discussed peer pressure up here before. I have confessed that it is something I struggled with for the majority of my life. If I am honest I probably still deal with it on some level but not like I did when I was younger. I don’t know why it was so important for me to think that I had to fit in. I have put myself in so many bad situations because I just wanted to belong. I think a lot of us can relate to that.

King Solomon is speaking as a parent addressing a child. He’s simply saying, “Hey man, don’t do that just because everyone else is. Don’t let them con you into going along with them. Nothing good will come from it.” We all have needed to hear that message from time to time. Even if we don’t struggle with extreme peer pressure we probably still need to hear it. I know I do.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

