We Were Made To Thrive

I’m starting a sermon series tomorrow that was partially inspired by Psalm 1, the song Thrive by Casting Crowns, and a cactus. You may remember the cactus. I posted a photo of it one day. In case you missed it or don’t feel like going back and looking, here it is again.

thrive cactus

There are three things that all plants need to survive: sunlight, water, and soil. I realize that it is a little more complicated than that so I don’t want all of you botanists writing in and telling me that I’m wrong. I talking about the BASICS. As I was thinking about those things I began to think about what things we need to survive. That got me to thinking about that song I mentioned and how we were meant to do more than survive. That led me back to Psalm 1. I find it interesting that I’m always ending up in Psalm 1.

The gist of this sermon series is that there are three (yes I know there are probably MANY more) things that we need to have in our lives if we want to thrive. Unlike the cactus in that photo, we do NOT thrive on neglect. We especially don’t thrive on spiritual neglect. The three BASIC things I think we all can give attention to are: prayer, God’s word, and the Church. Once again, there are lots of things we need to do but I believe these three things are absolutely essential if we want to grow and be productive.

My sermon tomorrow will introduce the idea and give an overview of what we will be looking at. The following three sermons will address each issue individually. Once they are done I will link the audio files to them here. I do have the majority of my sermons from the last couple of years online. I guess I can go ahead and provide the link for those who may be curious. There are HERE. If you do take the time to listen to any of them feel free to let me know what you think. I am constantly exploring ways to become a better communicator of God’s word. Any suggestions will be considered.

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

