Nobody Can Save Me

What a catchy song. What sadness in the lyrics. I don’t know that I would have ever heard this song if Chester Bennington hadn’t killed himself. Now I can’t stop listening to it. How many people feel this way and aren’t able to express it or seek out help?

Too many.

One line screams at me:

Stare into this illusion
For answers yet to come
I chose a false solution
But nobody proved me wrong

Please know that you do have another solution. If you know someone struggling. Reach out and let them know that there is another answer.

Been searching somewhere out there
For what’s been missing right here

Let’s do everything we can to help them find it.

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 1-800-272-8255

I do not know why this Linkin Park album is having such an effect on me. I wasn’t a real fan. I didn’t follow the band. The “shock” of Chester Bennington’s death has worn off. The album isn’t even a style of music I normally listen to. Apparently the music critics think it is unoriginal and extremely derivative. Some even feel it was a deliberate money grab by the band. I don’t know enough about them to make an educated guess. I do know that it sounds NOTHING like what I expect when I think Linkin Park. Admittedly, I only know the first album.

Why can’t I stop listening to it? I have had listening marathons in the past when someone I liked died. Most of you probably recall the Chris Cornell one just a couple of months ago. It lasted a day or two and then things went back to normal. I haven’t taken One More Light out of the CD player in my car. I am even writing about it. Why has this touched me so deeply?

I honestly can’t explain it.

May God our Father give you grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

