Whatever I Do

16 Let the message about Christ, in all its richness, fill your lives. Teach and counsel each other with all the wisdom he gives. Sing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs to God with thankful hearts. 17 And whatever you do or say, do it as a representative of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks through him to God the Father.

Colossians 3:16-17 (NLT)

 

I sang and played guitar in a little band several years ago. We weren’t famous or well known outside of the local circuit of churches we played at but we did play quite a bit and most of the time we were pretty good. At one point we made a demo (in the truest sense of the word) and sold them at shows. For some reason, kids at these shows wanted us to sign these things. Honestly, I felt silly doing it but I took it seriously. I always referenced Colossians 3:17 after I signed my name. It was my so-called life verse at the time. Even though I don’t necessarily hold to the idea of a “life verse” any longer it is still a passage I try to live out every day.

It seems to be even more appropriate now that I am out working in the public in a non-church job again. I was working at Pizza Inn and at other jobs during the time I was in the band so it helped me remember that I could be serving God no matter what my “ministry” looked like. That is helpful on days like today when I am already tired and have an eight hour shift at Walmart ahead of me. It helps me to keep things in perspective. Even if I am tired and not looking forward to the job I still need to approach it with the right attitude. I’m standing at that door greeting people for Jesus. I just know that I’ll be hearing Stand Up, Stand Up For Jesus in my head for the rest of the night.

It may sound simple or even silly but it helps. There have been times at Walmart where I have had to repeat (in my head), “You’re doing this for Jesus. You’re doing this for Jesus.” Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t be doing it if they weren’t paying me. There is the financial benefit from working but I do take the other part seriously. I really can let this be an extension of my ministry. I really can use this as a way to be a blessing to others.

Whatever I do in word or deed. Right now that means looking people in the eye, smiling, and saying, “Welcome to Walmart.”

May God our Father give you grace and peace.19250852_10156007088725260_696188921189714296_o

Leave a Reply

