Back Into The Swing Of Things

I was fighting sinus issues for the past four days so much of my free time was spent in a Benadryl-induced stupor. I didn’t do much on Saturday before going to work at Walmart. I honestly didn’t feel well so I rested. I took a nap after lunch on Sunday and then got up and went to Power Hour at 5:30. We went over to the Teribury’s after that and didn’t get home until 9:00. I didn’t have to work at Walmart yesterday. I went to the bank first thing then came here to the office to some non-work related things. My sinuses were still bothering me so I took Benadryl and went to sleep from Noon until about 5:30 when I got up and went to here about a potential ministry opportunity here in Bradford county.

I am feeling much better this morning. I’ve got coffee on and I’m working on tomorrow’s Bible study and this Sunday’s sermon. I do have to work tonight but as I said, I am feeling better today and I hope I’m through all this sinus yuckiness.

We’re in the book of Acts on Wednesdays. The afternoon group and the evening group are at different places (which is normal) so it’s almost like studying the book twice in a week. Actually, it’s exactly like that. I have been surprised at the things that have stuck out to me as we go through a text that I have read many times. Sometimes we read through things and assume that we already know what’s there or that there isn’t anything new to pick up on. Here is just one example. This is from Acts 1:20-26 (NLT) when the apostles replace Judas.

20 Peter continued, “This was written in the book of Psalms, where it says, ‘Let his home become desolate, with no one living in it.’ It also says, ‘Let someone else take his position.’

21 “So now we must choose a replacement for Judas from among the men who were with us the entire time we were traveling with the Lord Jesus— 22 from the time he was baptized by John until the day he was taken from us. Whoever is chosen will join us as a witness of Jesus’ resurrection.”

23 So they nominated two men: Joseph called Barsabbas (also known as Justus) and Matthias. 24 Then they all prayed, “O Lord, you know every heart. Show us which of these men you have chosen 25 as an apostle to replace Judas in this ministry, for he has deserted us and gone where he belongs.” 26 Then they cast lots, and Matthias was selected to become an apostle with the other eleven.

 

I typically focus on the names of the two men and how the apostles decide between the two. According to Luke, they cast lots and God is the one who actually chooses. What I sometimes overlook is the qualifications required to be a candidate. The two men chosen had been with them the entire time they had been with Jesus. Luke says that Joseph (or Barsabbas or Justus) and Matthias had been there when Jesus was baptized and had followed him all the way up his ascension. These guys were committed disciples and it only makes sense that would be a requirement to be an apostle.

I know it’s not a big deal in the grand scheme of things but it’s the little details like that which makes Bible study exciting to me. I do my best to never assume I know everything there is to know about a particular passage even if it is one I have read hundreds of times. One of the things the Holy Spirit does is help us understand Scripture (1 Corinthians 2:6-16). I pray before each Bible study. I pray that God’s Spirit will speak to us  and reveal to us the things He wants us to see. As I said, I am amazed by the things (even the little things) that I have missed in the past.

Well, we’re up to speed now. I really need to do some work while I am here.

May God our Father give you grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

