Still At A Loss For Words

I wrote THIS back in September of last year. In the eleven months since I wrote it we have had the most contentious Presidential election of my life. This nation, which has felt divided my entire existence, seems to be even more divided now. When you look at the “news” it doesn’t seem as if anyone is really trying to find a solution. There are actually folks out there deliberately making it worse. Once again…I’m at a loss for words. I want to say something. I feel like I NEED to say something. I just don’t know what it is that I should or can say. If I say what’s on my heart it will come across as naive or perhaps worse…it might seem shallow. It almost feels like too little, too late. At the risk of being accused of any (or all) of those things I will say the only thing I know to say.

Be nice. Love one another. We are all the same.

I know. I know. That sounds like something you see on a poster in a kindergarten class room. That’s what we tell little children but we all know that’s not the way the real world works. Right? Life isn’t that simple. That’s just a dream. We don’t really expect people to actually live like that do we? I sure wish we did. I think Jesus did. Out of all the things I read in the Bible that’s the one thing I ALWAYS seem to come back to. Jesus said that we need to love others. He didn’t say to just love our families. He didn’t say to just love our friends. He didn’t say to just love those we agree with.

Our enemies? Yep. Those who do us wrong? Yep. Those who hate us? Yep.

I know. It’s hard. I have trouble doing it to. I don’t think we can do it without Him. That’s His kind of love and He wants us to not only experience it but share it with others.

That’s it. I don’t know what else to say.

May God our Father give you grace and peace.

rybw

Leave a Reply

